GPS/location priority fro Android

Troubles with application

GPS/location priority fro Android

Postby UniformZulu » 08 Aug 2021, 06:41

Hi,

FIF is loosing GPS data when display switches of or another app is used temporarily.
I figured out that it is not possible to provide FIF "GPS always" access but only "when app is active".
See pic attached.
This leads to lookbook breackups and to anying delays.
Since it worked before realy stable - any advice how to fix it?
Cheers UZ
Rob
Attachments
Screenshot_20210808-083045_Permission controller.jpg
Screenshot_20210808-083045_Permission controller.jpg (109.34 KiB) Viewed 2309 times
UniformZulu
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 29 Mar 2021, 21:06

Re: GPS/location priority fro Android

Postby UniformZulu » 08 Aug 2021, 06:46

... when I deactivate the location for the app... FIF will also only switch on the GPS "when app is used"
Why is the option always missing?
Attachments
Screenshot_20210808-084311_Permission controller.jpg
Screenshot_20210808-084311_Permission controller.jpg (168.79 KiB) Viewed 2308 times
UniformZulu
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 29 Mar 2021, 21:06

Re: GPS/location priority fro Android

Postby Tonio » 22 Aug 2021, 09:11

To protect the battery and make the hanset working longer, in Android 10 and 11, features are allowing to restrict background processes
This could hurt FIF

On top of GPS setting, you may check in your setting, if:
- FIF can run in background
- battery optimisation rules are not "killing" FIF, while in background
...

This is perhaps the source of your problem
Tonio
Administrátor
 
Posts: 232
Joined: 19 Jun 2015, 00:03

Re: GPS/location priority fro Android

Postby UniformZulu » 03 Sep 2021, 17:01

Hi Toni,

Thanks for the reply.
Pls see picture one. For FIF I don't receive the 3rd option to allow FIF to run in background. I have this option for other Apps! FIF doesn't.... thus GPS is killed even in optimized Energy mode.
Its Android 10.

Any further advice?
UniformZulu
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 29 Mar 2021, 21:06

Re: GPS/location priority fro Android

Postby kabong.steve » 24 Apr 2022, 02:33

Just to let everyone know I purchased a uAvionicx Skyecho 2 device for my plane.

Currently in Australia, you can apply for a 50% rebate from the government to go towards such a purchase.
https://uavionix.store/general-aviation ... /skyecho-2

This works perfectly with Fly Is Fun and shows we all I need to know.

This device also includes a TS0-C199 certified GPS and a barometric Altitude sensor.

FiF says it'll accept the GPS input thru GDL90, and I'm wondering if this solves the issue of background GPS usage for FiF.

I'll have to try it next time I'm flying.

Would also be good if FIF accepted the baro altitude values as well, so can include in instruments for the tablet I have without baro sensr.
kabong.steve
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 16 Jul 2013, 11:45


Return to Questions and answers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron